Eric Corriel Studios

multidisciplinary art studio • immersive and interactive public art • art activism • digital/electronic art • nyc

Enter The Machine 2.0

Algorithmically generated animations, 2018

Extreme close-up of a digital display showing a very pixellated yet organic-ish form that takes up most of the image like a blob feasting on negative space; its form consisting of hundreds of different pixels, each one a different shade ranging from dark blue to light turquoise on a black gridded background
Photo credit: Brett Wood

Enter The Machine 2.0  is a video series that unravels the digital encoding process by showing it step by step, pixel by pixel Shown at 92Y, Manhattan (NY); Made in New York Media Center, Brooklyn (NY); South by Southwest, Austin (TX)

Enter The Machine 2.0, shown on a Meural digital canvas

Imagine you could shrink yourself down small enough to swim around your hard drive and meet your files face to face—what would you see? Enter The Machine provides a new way of seeing our digital files, one that does justice to their uniqueness, the diversity of the data they contain, and the complexity by which they are structured.

Brooklyn (2017)

Enter The Machine 2.0 at the New York Media Center

Enter The Machine 1.0 gives visual form to digital files, effectively creating a series of “file portraits.” Enter The Machine 2.0 is a video series that shows how files are formed, i.e., the encoding process.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands (2017)

Enter The Machine 2.0 was first shown in 2017 at the Van Loon Museum in Amsterdam. The museum provided a high resolution image of The Marriage of Willem van Loon with Margaretha Bas by Jan Miense Molenaer for encoding. Sound composition by Krista Dragomer.

Enter The Machine 2.0 The Marriage of Willem van Loon with Margaretha Bas by Jan Miense Molenaer

Manhattan (2018)

Much like Enter The Machine 1.0, this series can take any digital file as an input and show its encoding process. The video below uses audio from Beethoven's String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 131: Allegro as performed by the Alban Berg String Quartet (which you can find on Amazon, iTunes, and Spotify).

Enter The Machine 2.0: String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 131: Allegro by Ludwig Van Beethoven
Exhibition shot of 5 Enter The Machine pieces in a row, hanging on a wall. Two portrait sized frames showing ETM video content flank a ETM 1.0 landscape lightbox on both sides.
Photo by Brett Wood

There is no denying that we live in an age in which all types of information are being digitally encoded at a seemingly ever increasing rate. The more ubiquitous this process becomes, the more unremarkable it is, and now it has reached the point where we don’t even notice it at all. This video series brings focus back to this omnipresent yet unnoticed part of our digital lives.

Photo by Brett Wood
Photo by Brett Wood

More Enter The Machine 2.0
   •      •    


10 years of work by Eric Corriel Studios